Wednesday, 24 June 2020

How to Save a Life by S. D. Robertson Blog Tour

I really like a story when the bad guy becomes the good guy.

You know the ones where they start off like a person you'd really love to hate but by the end they've completely redeemed themselves and you have more faith in humanity.

That's just what you get with S. D. Robertson's latest novel How to Save a Life.

how-to-save-a-life-front-cover

You can’t have a rainbow, without a little rain…

When a stranger saves Luke’s life, he knows he’s been given a second chance. He’s going to make it count – and, determined to live each day to its fullest, he starts by saying yes to everything life has to offer.

Slowly but surely, Luke learns that a little bit of blue-sky thinking can go a long way, and things start to look up.

But when Luke’s new resolve is tested, will he return to his old ways? Or can one fateful moment truly save a life?

The main protagonist, Luke Craven is a man who ultimately believes that everyone is against him. 

Now he hasn't always been like this. He used to lead a happy life. A man, who was very close to both his parents and a wife who he adored. But that all changed in a heartbeat when his mum and dad died together suddenly in a skiing accident and months later his then wife left him for another man.


These events I think would leave anyone feeling low but many would manage to pick themselves back up and move on with their life.

Luke however doesn't seem to have that ability.

He's now a glass half empty kind of guy in any situation.

That is until he almost loses his life in a freak accident. A lovely woman (Iris) bravely saves him from death whilst sadly losing her own life. 

This tragic event causes Luke to re-evaluate his life as it is right now and prompts him to make some changes for the better.

When Luke’s renewed faith is tested, will he return to his miserable old ways?



How to Save a Life looks at the subject of depression - which is something that is sadly quite common these days - giving it a platform but in a way that seems genuine and meaningful without becoming too downbeat.

It is a tale that makes you think, makes you question. How does one go about living their best life whilst suffering emotional trauma?

I'd describe this story as positive and uplifting.

The cast of characters that surround Luke provide much needed guidance and bring the happiness and laughter, providing a great balance.

I for one found myself smiling many times as I turned the pages. And at the end I was left with a feeling of gratefulness (if that's even a word).

Providing an immense amount of hope to those who read it.

A life-affirming story about a man who is given a second chance, perfect for fans of Mike Gayle and Imogen Clark.



Ideal for the circumstances we currently find ourselves in.

For more insight into the book do follow the rest of the blog tour outlined below:

how-to-sav-a-life-blog-tour



No comments:

Post a comment

I love hearing from my readers so please feel free to leave comment.