Wednesday, 5 August 2020

Just Like the Other Girls by Claire Douglas Blog Tour

I'm quite the fan of psychological thrillers and Claire Douglas is an author that really hits the spot. 

Her latest novel Just Like the Other Girls definitely doesn't disappoint. 

just-like-the-other-girls-claire-douglas

Una Richardson's heart is broken after the death of her mother. Seeking a place to heal, she responds to an advertisement and steps into the rich, comforting world of Elspeth McKenzie.

But Elspeth's home is not as safe as it seems.

Kathryn, her cold and bitter daughter, resents Una's presence. But more disturbing is the realization that two girls had lived here before. Two girls who ended up dead.

Why won't the McKenzies talk about them? What other secrets are locked inside this house? As the walls close in around her, Una starts to fear that she will end up just like the other girls . . 

What's going on...

When Una starts her job as a carer for an older lady, who really just wanted some company, she could never envision what life had in store for her next.


Everything starts so well, except for Elspeth's daughter Kathryn not really warming to Una, but you can't have everyone like you. But things start to take a darker turn when it comes to light what happened to the girls that had previously been under Elspeth's employment.

This is one twisty, terrifying thriller.

Told from multiple points of view, it slowly builds to a climax that I don't think any reader will manage to guess.

The author does a fantastic job of weaving in plenty of detail, which makes you think long and hard over certain moments. 

Are things as they seem, can the people around Una be trusted?

There is an abundance of tangled lies as well as feelings of overwhelming sadness and actually what's refreshing is that by the end, you don't get that upbeat happy ending. It felt more somber, the emotions raw and real.

Just Like the Other Girls is a cleverly written story, one that makes you slow down your pace of reading and despite there being quite a few characters which are gradually added to the cast, you can really take in all of the details that it has to offer.

CARER/COMPANION WANTED FOR ELDERLY LADY
* YOUNG FEMALE PREFERRED * COMPETITIVE SALARY *
* ROOM AND BOARD INCLUDED *

After reading this book, I can say without a doubt that I wouldn't be so tempted by the advert written above.

A surprising, smart and secretive novel that I'd say is perfect for fans of authors like Lisa Jewel.

Carry on with the blog tour outlined below for more thoughts and insights into Just Like the Other Girls:


No comments:

Post a comment

I love hearing from my readers so please feel free to leave comment.