Thursday, 29 October 2020

All I Want for Christmas by Joanna Bolouri Blog Tour

 I may have mentioned one or a one hundred times just how much I love Christmas.

In fact I already shared a post on some xmas must reads earlier in the month, which you can of course still read now.

But now I have another book to add to that list.

All I Want for Christmas is the latest novel from author Joanna Bolouri. The front cover alone makes me feel all festive. With its beautiful cursive writing and simple imagery, I just knew there would be a special story within.



When Nick loses his job and is dumped by his glamorous but demanding girlfriend, he is forced to grudgingly accept work as a Santa at a local Christmas grotto. As his friends are getting married or promoted, Nick spends his days being terrorised by unfriendly elves and cried on by snotty, spoiled children.

Then he meets 4-year-old Alfie. All Alfie wants for Christmas is for his mum, Sarah, to be happy again. Moved by the boy's selfless wish, Nick arranges a date between Sarah and his best friend, Matt. But as Sarah and Alfie become part of all their lives, Nick realises that happiness for Sarah and Matt might mean heartbreak for himself.

I always find it refreshing to read romances from the male perspective.

And this is just what you get in this story.

Nick had a well paid job, a stunning girlfriend, really a life that most would be envious of. But that all changes in mere minutes when he chooses to do something that in turn gets him fired and that stunning girlfriend, well she's no longer interested when there isn't the cash to flash.

With a lack of job prospects on the horizon, December is the wrong time of year to find permanent work, Nick is forced to take on the role of Santa at his local shopping centre.

Could this be rock bottom?

What if the love of your life was your best friend's girlfriend, and you were the one that set them up?

You'd have thought it was pretty close but when 4 year old Alfie asks Santa to make his mum (Sarah) happy again Nick couldn't have foreseen what would happen next.

Sarah is introduced to Matt - Nick's best friend - a brilliant idea, that is until our dashing protagonist realises that he too is developing feelings for this woman. How could this happen? Is there a way to make these emotions go away?

What happens after is both funny and emotional.

I don't want to give the main part of the story away but I feel pretty confident in saying that you won't be disappointed.

A hilarious and heartwarming Christmas romance for fans of Beth O'Leary's The Flatshare and Marian Keyes' Grown Ups.

I'll admit it, I'm a sucker for a good romance. Throw in some comedic moments and you've got me. Hook, line and sinker.

As I read I felt like I was unwrapping a present that I didn't even know that I wanted.

My favourite part surprisingly wasn't actually the romance itself, in fact it was the relationship between Nick and Alfie that really got me, beautiful, touching and all together meaningful. Gave the story that extra heartwarming boost. 

I'd agree with the recommendation that if you liked The Flatshare then you will love All I Want for Christmas.

A book absolutely fitting for the season and one that I'd happily read again.

For more information, reviews and thoughts on this magical novel make sure that you follow the rest of the blog tour.



No comments:

Post a comment

I love hearing from my readers so please feel free to leave comment.