Saturday, 14 August 2021

The Unexpected Love Story of Lexie Byrne (aged 39 1/2) by Caroline Grace-Cassidy Blog Tour

 There are days when I need a good pick me up and books have always been my saviour when it comes to moments like this.

One such book that lightened my mood recently has to be the latest release from best-selling author Caroline Grace-Cassidy.

And now it is my stop on the blog tour for The Unexpected Love Story of Lexie Byrne (aged 39 1/2). This is a novel that is pure fun, guaranteed to make you smile - well I was kept smiling throughout anyway. So sit back, relax and read on for more of my thoughts on this heartwarming tale.

lexie-byrne


Meet Lexie Byrne. The big 4-0 is looming, but she's perfectly content without a man. How else could she watch movies on repeat and eat crisp sandwiches in bed? Finally free of her love rat ex, she's never settling again. Nothing less that 'The One' will do.

Then, after an electrifying encounter on a wild St Patrick's Day, Lexie takes a leap of faith and a flight across the Irish sea. But as sparks fly, Lexie's dreams take a serious nose dive. Until an arrival no one anticipated . . .

Where to start.

Lexie's character is larger than life. She's real, honest and is a woman who now knows exactly what she wants in life and she really wants 'The One'.

On a farewell do for a work colleague, 'The One' literally walks into her (and her life), and this is where the unexpected love story begins and boy is it a goodun.

An irresistable love story . . . delivered with sparkle and wit (in a too tight red dress!)

'The One' turns out to be a man called Adam.

He's funny, charming, definitely good looking, so what's the catch I hear you cry.

Problem, he doesn't actually live in Ireland, he lives but in the Cotswolds in England. Could a relationship even begin with such a distance between them?

I was automatically rooting for this could be couple. Everything was crossed that what had begun didn't have to end abruptly.

Funny, entertaining and delivered with a delightful lightness of touch, perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Sophia Kinsella.

Short, witty chapters that were bursting with energy filled the pages.

If you lack time to read, this is the ideal book for you.

I don't think I've laughed so much in a long time. Every part of it amused me in so many ways. Either the pure hilarity of it, or me simply thinking that that's something I would definitely say or do if put in the same situation.

Will the unexpected love story of Lexie Byrne have a happy ending after all?

A highlight for me was Annmarie, who is Lexie's friend and workmate, and also happens to be heavily pregnant.

She almost stole the show with some of her dialogue.

Absolutely comical.

I'll admit, that I'd not read any of the previous books from lovely Caroline but after reading all about Lexie Byrne I will definitely be purchasing more of her stories.

A joy to read, The Unexpected Love Story of Lexie Byrne (aged 39 1/2) - an age that matters - is the perfect pick-me-up. A romance that is uncomplicated in its delivery but filled to the brim with heartwarming humour. 

I dare you to read it and try not to giggle!

Enough of me rambling on, make sure you join the rest of the blog tour for more reviews and insights into this fantastically funny book.


lexie-byrne-blog-tour



1 comment:

  1. This sounds a fun light-hearted read, just right for a nice summer day

    ReplyDelete

I love hearing from my readers so please feel free to leave comment.